First 20 prestigious 2019 Helpmann Award winners announced!

Jul 14th, 2019 | Posted in Media Release, News

This year, for the very first time, 43 Helpmann Awards are being presented across two nights and two events in Melbourne, at the Victorian home of the performing arts, Arts Centre Melbourne.

From 6pm Sunday 14 July, the first 20 Helpmann Awards were presented at the 2019 Helpmann Awards Act I, an intimate, industry-only cocktail hour event.

The winners were announced for the best creative, designer and supporting roles, as well as the Awards for Best Presentation for Children and Young People, Best Regional Touring Production and Best Special Event in front of an industry A-list crowd. In addition, the 2019 Sue Nattrass Award for outstanding service to the live performance industry was presented to Liz Jones AO, long serving Artistic Director of Melbourne’s LaMama Theatre.

The 2019 Helpmann Awards Act I saw the gravitas of Australia’s most prestigious live theatre and entertainment awards meet the atmosphere of a sophisticated jazz lounge, for an up close, upbeat, exclusive industry-only night to remember.

Hosted by the legendary performer, writer, artistic director and national treasure, Robyn Archer AO, the evenings presenters included industry favourites Annie Aitken, Casey Bennetto, Tony Briggs, Uncle Jack Charles, Ako Kondo, Matt Lee, Ali McGregor, Natalie O’Donnell, Gareth Reeves, Graeme Russell, Claire Spencer, Anne Wood and the legendary punk rock duo from Die Roten Punkte, Otto and Astrid Rot.

The evening’s performances included The Jack Earle Jazz Trio, the dazzling Rhonda Burchmore OAM, the silky soulful voice of Marcus CorowaAustralia’s most prolific Torres Strait Islander entertainer Christine Anu and the musical theatre leading men Michael Falzon, Matt Lee and Rob Mills of Swing on This.

The Helpmann Awards are the premier celebration of Australia’s vibrant live performance industry. The Awards recognize distinguished achievement and excellence in Australia’s live performance sectorsincluding musicals, contemporary music, comedy, opera and classical music, theatre, ballet, dance and physical theatre, presentations for children and young people, regional touring and cabaret.

The Helpmann Awards were established in 2001 by Live Performance Australia (LPA). Chief Executive of LPA, Evelyn Richardson said “We are delighted this year to present the 19th Annual Helpmann Awards in Melbourne for the very first time. Over the past 19 years the Helpmann Awards have received nearly 12,000 entries and announced over 2,900 Nominees, which highlights the breadth and depth of the live performance industry enjoyed by 18.4 million people each year in Australia.

The remaining 23 Awards will be presented at The Helpmann Awards Act II on Monday 15 July at the State Theatre, Arts Centre Melbourne. The Helpmann Awards Act II will be broadcast live on ABC Comedy on Monday 15 July at 8pm. Highlights from tonightAct I will also be included in the broadcast.

Click here for further information and a full list of nominees.