The JC Williamson Award®

The JC Williamson Award® (formerly the James Cassius Award) is the foremost honour that the Australian live entertainment industry can bestow. In awarding the JC Williamson Award, LPA recognises individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the Australian live entertainment and performing arts industry and shaped the future of our industry for the better.

This prestigious and coveted Award is named after the one and only James Cassius (JC) Williamson, who established the company that went on to dominate the Australian theatre scene for much of the 20th century. At its height, JC Williamson’s (‘The Firm’) were one of the great theatre entrepreneurs and venue- owning dynasties in the Australian live entertainment industry.

Sue Nattrass Award®

The Sue Nattrass Award® for outstanding service to the Australian live performance industry sits alongside the JC Williamson Award. This prestigious Award recognises outstanding service to the live performance industry in a field which may not enjoy a high public profile. It was established to shine a spotlight on people in service roles including arts administrator, academic or teacher, technical supplier, marketing professional, ticketing professional, agent, archivist, historian, public servant and member of the media.

This industry achievement award is named in tribute to and commemoration of the lifetime service of Sue Nattrass AO who, amongst many achievements, has been a long serving LPA President and the first woman to hold the position.